dancing

I just saw the caption that a friend wrote next to a photo of her with her 2 year old daughter. The caption says, “She’s too busy dancing to look at the camera. I’m okay with that.” That sentence is POW.ER.FUL.

This week I have to do something hard. I am applying for teaching jobs and am teaching for observation this week. I’ll be observed teaching for the first time in 4 years…and I’ll be teaching a classroom of kids that I don’t know. I’ve been nervous about it, excited, and unsure of what to expect. That quote, though…it’s inspirational. I want to live my life too busy dancing to look at the camera. If you look at the camera, you automatically try to think about how the camera sees you. If you are too busy dancing, the camera sees you in your element. It captures real life. When I teach, I want to be so present with the kids that I don’t notice the observers in the room, that I don’t notice the camera. I want to be that present in life.

kk & hannah banana

IMG_1986

IMG_1922

Leave a Reply

